Exhortation: Day 5

“For though I am free from all, I have made myself a servant to all, that I might in more of them. To the Jews i became as a Jew in order to win Jews. To those under the law, I became as one under the law (though no being myself under the law) that I might win those under the law. To those outside the law, i became as one aoutside the law (not being outside the law of God but under the law of Christ) that I might win thtose outside the law.  To teh weak, I became weak that I might win the weak. I have become all things to all people, tha by all means I might save some. I do it all for the sake of the gospel, that I may share with them in its blessing”

There is a lot here!  I am part of a study group that has been really dissecting the Word, seeking the original definitions of words, studying the cultural nuances (sp?) and trying to understand the deepest meaning of the Words penned by the author. 

There is great value in that don’t get me wrong.  But today I read this passage, and while there is much to dissect, and certainly plenty to seek further understanding on, I think the message of this paragraph is simple…

Seek to relate to people, find common ground, create common ground, in order to share the Gospel of Christ.

A couple of years ago, a Jehovah Witness came to my door.  She had such a sweet spirit, and she even complimented my PJ’s.  She returned, for several weeks and we chatted briefly on the porch. 

She always wanted to leave her brochure, or booklet and I had often heard people say ‘Don’t take the pamphlets, don’t take the heresy into the house, don’t read it, lest you sin against the Lord.’

But as I sought the Lord, I realized Lord you brought her to my door, you might have something for me to do.

I took a pamphlet.  I didn’t read it word for word, I just skimmed it, picked out the verses they were discussing, did some study of my own, and invited her in the next time she came to the door.

We continued to meet for a year and half.  I did not become a Jehovah Witness.  But I did seek to understand her, where she was at, and offer truth to her in a non-threatening, non-confrontational way. 

Perhaps I planted a seed, or watered one previously planted.

I could have just closed the door and said “I will pray for her'( which I did and do pray for her).  But I believe that I better served in the Kingdom of God when I seek to relate to those that God brings into my circle of influence.

The blog I read about Nauseating Christian Habits, correctly states that we tend to just hang out with other Christians. It is safe, it is comfortable, it is easy. 

But if we want to add to the Kingdom, we have to get outside of ourselves and reach those who don’t know Him.

