Exhortation: Day

“If one of the unbelioevers invites you to dinner and you ar e disposed to go, eat whatever is set before you  without raising any question on the grounds of conscience. But if someone says to you “this has been offered in sacrafices”, then do not eat it, for the sake of the one who informed you, and for the sake of conscience.  I do not mean your conscience, but his.  For why should my liberty be determined by someone else’s conscience? If I partake with thankfulness, why am I denounced because of that for which I give thanks? So whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God”  I Corinthians 10: 27-31

I am exhorted  here by Paul to live by my conscience, not by someone else’s.

My conscience is that still small voice inside me, that alerts me this is right, or, this is wrong, or this is questionable.

My conscience is an awareness from the inside out of the morality of what I am about to do.

James 4:17 “Therefore, the one who knows the right thing to do, and does not do it, to him it is sin.”

 The scripture doesn’t say, to him who thinks that Sally knows that it is the right thing to do.  Or to him who knows that Fred thinks it is the wrong thing to do.

The scripture puts the responsibility on us, as individuals, to know what God has convicted us of, to know what God has taught us, and to live by it!

We can not rely on someone else to be our conscience, nor can we assert ourselves to be someone else’s conscience. 

 

 

