I am a writer.  Over the years I have had my boughts with Writers Block. 

If you are a writer or you know a writer you are probably familiar with this ailment.  It occurs when the brain of the writer hits a figurative BLOCK and is unable to formulate or compile words in a manner that articulate what the writer is desiring to communicate to the reader. 

I am a quilter.  And I have discovered an ailment I like to call Quiliters Block. 

If you are a quilter, you may have experienced the symptoms of this ailment, and not known what to call it.  Now you will know. 

Quilters Block occurs, when the mind of the quilter is so focused on

shopping for fabric,

buying fabric,

cutting fabric,

sewing quilt blocks,

laying out quilt blocks,

 looking for the next quilt pattern,

 choosing the right fabric for the next quilt,

trying the next technique on the quilting list,

or even finishing a quilt,

that the quilter is unable to focus on anything other than the next Quilt Block.

Quilters Block can have dangerous side effects such as:

an untidy house,

untidy kids,

unruly dogs,

unbrushed cats,

hungry husbands,

mountains of laundry,

unreturned phone messages,

overfilled e-mail boxes,

piles of unopened mail,

(The list goes on, but some are too grewsome to note)

However, some quilters will and do deem these side effects tolerable.

I, on the other hand, attempt to be ultra organized, so that I can rush through the tasks of the day, attempting to appear like I am maintaining a balanced life, quilting only when I “have time”.  When the reality is, that all that is on my mind is how to get through this ‘stuff’ I am responsible for, so that I can get back to quilting!

It seems prudent to note that I do not neglect the needs of my Fruit Loops to quilt, there are many other respnsibilities I can neglect to make time for quilting, that don’t interfere with my God Given Purpose to Mother my children.  

So now that the children’s needs are met, the baby is napping peacefully, the quilt blocks for the day are done, I am here to show you photographic evidence that Quilter’s Block does in fact produce something:

Symptoms of my bought with Quilters Block first appeared when a dear friend and I decided to quilt together this winter,  We carefully selected a pattern and jumped in!  She started off a bit quicker than I did, and I had Quilter’s Envy, so I worked hard to catch up.  I have finished 17 out of 20 squares that I need for this project.  Too many to show, so here are a few of my favorites:

img_46271

img_4628

img_4626

While I was starting this project, my fabric compilation juices were flowing, and I was anxious to try the Log Cabin pattern. So rather than use scraps that didn’t seem to go together just perfectly, I purchased a delightful array of pinks and greens and put this together:

img_4625

 

In my search for comraderie, I began hunting for Quilting Bloggers.  And boy did I find them, oh yes, tons of them, they quilt, and they share pictures, and some even offer fabulous tutorials for squares like the two below.  The first one was my first attempt, I believe I got better by my second try…

img_4629

img_4630

I have to go now, there are sew many more quilt squares to make!

